

Brussels, 20 May 2021 (OR. en, fi)

8993/21

FRONT 192 COVID-19 217 COMIX 274

## **NOTE**

From:	Finnish delegation
To:	Working Party on Frontiers/Mixed Committee (EU-Iceland/Liechtenstein/
	Norway/Switzerland)
No. prev. doc.:	8114/21/21
Subject:	Prolongation of the temporary reintroduction of border controls at the Finnish internal borders in accordance with Article 25 of Regulation (EU) 2016/399 on a Union Code on the rules governing the movement of persons across borders (Schengen Borders Code)

Delegations will find attached a copy of the letter received by the General Secretariat of the Council on 20 May 2021 regarding the prolongation of the temporary reintroduction of internal border controls by Finland between 24 May and 15 June 2021.

8993/21 BS/cr 1
JAI.1 EN/FI





Helsinki, 7 May 2021

Mr Margaritis Schinas Vice-President of the European Commission

Ms Ylva Johansson Commissioner for Home Affairs European Commission

IN 005423 2021 20.05.2021

Mr Jeppe Tranholm-Mikkelsen Secretary-General of the Council of the European Union

Mr David Maria Sassoli President of the European Parliament

The Ministers of Home Affairs of the EU and Schengen countries

Dear Colleagues,

The threat posed by the COVID-19 persists and the situation in Europe is still a cause for concern. Necessary resources for the implementation of the compensatory measures are not available yet. Due to these reasons and in order to curb the spread of the new variants there is a necessity to prolong the temporarily reintroduced internal border controls in accordance with article 25 of the Schengen borders code until 15 June 2021.

In light of the serious threat posed to Finland's internal security internal border controls are prolonged. In line with the previous decision made on 22 April 2021 internal border controls are prolonged as of 24 May 2021 between Finland and the Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, Italy, Austria, Greece, Latvia, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Portugal, Poland, France, Sweden, Germany, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, Denmark, Czech Republic, Hungary and Estonia in all modes of transport with the exception of leisure boats.

Border crossing is allowed only for persons residing in Finland or returning to another EU or Schengen country or with essential purpose of travel. Some limitations to the opening hours of certain border crossing points remains. Limitations to the opening hours do not affect the possibility of border crossing of transport workers and freight or any other crossing with essential purpose to take place outside the opening hours. By way of derogation and on the basis of an epidemiological estimation the restrictions regarding border communities between Finland and Norway are lifted as of 24 May 2021.

Finland continues to asses the necessity and proportionality of the measures taken at the internal borders in light of the development of the epidemiological situation.

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ohisalo Minister of the Interior

Kirkkokatu 12, Helsinki PO Box 26, FI-00023 Government.

Tel. 0295 480 171 (switchboard) | kirjaamo@intermin.fi (registry) | www.intermin.fi



Helsinki, 7 toukokuuta 2021

IM 005423 2021 20.05.2021

Komissaari Margaritis Schinas Euroopan komission varapuheenjohtaja

Komissaari Ylva Johansson Euroopan komissio

Pääsihteeri Jeppe Tranholm-Mikkelsen Euroopan unionin neuvoston pääsihteeristö

Puhemies David Maria Sassoli Euroopan parlamentti

EU ja Schengen-valtioiden sisäministerit

Hyvät kollegat,

COVID-19-tartuntatautiepidemia jatkuu edelleen ja tilanne Euroopassa pysyy huolestuttavana. Tarvittavia resursseja sisärajavalvonnan korvaavien toimenpiteiden toteuttamiseksi ei ole vielä käytettävissä. Edellä mainituista syistä sekä uusien virusmuutosten leviämisen ehkäisemiseksi sisärajavalvonta on välttämätöntä jatkaa tilapäisesti Schengenin rajasäännöstön artikla 25 mukaisesti 15.6.2021 asti.

Sisärajavalvonta jatketaan aiemmin 22.4.2021 tehdyn päätöksen mukaisesti Suomen sisäiseen turvallisuuteen kohdistuvan vakavan uhan edellyttämien toimien vuoksi 24.5.2021 alkaen Suomen ja Alankomaiden, Belgian, Espanjan, Italian, Itävallan, Kreikan, Latvian, Liechtensteinin, Liettuan, Luxemburgin, Maltan, Norjan, Portugalin, Puolan, Ranskan, Ruotsin, Saksan, Slovakian, Slovenian, Sveitsin, Tanskan, Tšekin, Unkarin ja Viron välisessä liikenteessä huvialusliikennettä lukuun ottamatta.

Henkilöliikenteelle tarkoitetuilla rajanylityspaikoilla sallittuja maahantuloperusteita ovat Suomessa tai muussa EU- tai Schengen-valtiossa asuvien paluu ja muu välttämätön syy. Tiettyjen rajanylityspaikkojen aukioloaikojen rajoituksia jatketaan. Aukioloaikojen rajoitukset eivät koske tavaraliikennettä eivätkä sellaista välttämätöntä henkilöliikennettä, jolla on perusteltu tarve rajan ylittämiseen aukioloaikojen ulkopuolella. Epidemiologiseen arvioon perustuen 22.4.2021 tehtyä päätöstä muutetaan myös niin, että rajaliikenteen rajoitukset poistetaan Suomen ja Norjan välisen maarajan rajayhteisöjen asukkailta.

Suomi arvio jatkuvasti sisärajavalvonnan tarpeellisuutta ja toimien suhteellisuutta vallitsevaan epidemiatilanteeseen nähden.

Ystävällisin terveisin,

Maria Ohisalo Sisäministeri

Kirkkokatu 12, Helsinki PL 26, 00023 Valtioneuvosto Vaihde 0295 480 171 | kirjaamo@intermin.fi | www.intermin.fi