

Brussels, 19 June 2020 (OR. en)

8935/20

FRONT 173 COMIX 268

NOTE

From:	Slovak delegation
To:	Working Party on Frontiers/Mixed Committee
	(EU-Iceland/Liechtenstein/Norway/Switerland)
No. prev. doc.:	8376/20
Subject:	Lifting/prolongation of the temporary reintroduction of border controls at the Slovak internal borders in accordance with Article 25 of Regulation (EU) 2016/399 on a Union Code on the rules governing the movement of persons across borders (Schengen Borders Code)

Delegations will find attached a copy of a letter received by the General Secretariat of the Council on 19 June 2020 regarding the lifting of the temporary reintroduction of border controls by Slovakia at land borders with Czechia, Austria and Hungary on 11 June 2020.

The border controls at land borders with Poland and at air and inwater borders remain until 26 June 2020.

8935/20 GK/cr 1

JAI.1 EN



Roman MIKULEC Minister of Interior of the Slovak Republic IN 005895 2020

Bratislava, 12 June 2020 Ref.: KM-OZVEZ-2020/004865-002

Ci lo.

Dear ladies and gentlemen,

As I have repeatedly informed you in the past weeks, to counter the spread of the COVID-19 disease caused by the new SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus, the Government of the Slovak Republic has decided to temporarily reintroduce border checks at the internal borders of the Slovak Republic for a period of 30 days.

It is my pleasure to inform you now, that following the positive epidemiological situation in the Slovak republic, Czech Republic, Austria and Hungary, the Government of the Slovak Republic decided to abolish the temporary border checks at the internal land borders of the Slovak Republic with Czech Republic, Austria and Hungary, effective on 11 June 2020.

I believe that our mutual cooperation and friendly relations will go on developing and be strengthened in a positive way.

Sincerely

Mr Margaritis SCHINAS
Vice-President of the European Commission

Ms Ylva JOHANSSON Commissioner for Home Affairs

Mr David Maria SASSOLI President of the European Parliament

Mr Jeppe TRANHOLM-MIKKELSEN
Secretary-General of the Council of the European Union

The Ministers of Home Affairs of the EU and Schengen countries