

Brussels, 15 June 2020 (OR. en, fi)

8842/20

FRONT 166 COMIX 260

NOTE

From:	Finnish delegation
To:	Working Party on Frontiers/Mixed Committee
	(EU-Iceland/Liechtenstein/Norway/Switerland)
No. prev. doc.:	8166/20
Subject:	Lifting/prolongation of the temporary reintroduction of border controls at the Finnish internal borders in accordance with Articles 25 and 27 of Regulation (EU) 2016/399 on a Union Code on the rules governing the movement of persons across borders (Schengen Borders Code)

Delegations will find attached a copy of a letter received by the General Secretariat of the Council on 15 June 2020 regarding the lifting of the temporary reintroduction of border controls by Finland at land, sea and air borders with Norway, Denmark, Iceland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania as of 15 June 2020.

Finland will prolong other internal border controls between 15 June and 14 July 2020.

8842/20 GK/cr 1
JAI.1 **EN/FI**



Reçu le 14. 06. 2020

IN 005632 2020 15.06.2020

Helsinki, 12. kesäkuuta 2020

Komissaari Margaritis Schinas Euroopan komission varapuheenjohtaja

Komissaari Ylva Johansson Euroopan komissio

Pääsihteeri Jeppe Tranholm-Mikkelsen Euroopan unionin neuvoston pääsihteeristö

Puhemies David Maria Sassoli Euroopan parlamentti

EU ja Schengen-valtiolden sisäministerit

Hyvät kollegat,

koronaviruspandemia on edelleen uhka väestölle sekä yhteiskunnan ja talouselämän toiminnalle, Suomen hallitus on päättänyt jatkaa tilapäistä sisärajavalvontaa 14.7.2020 asti perustuen henkilöiden liikkumista rajojen yli koskevan unionin säännöstön (Schengenin rajasäännöstö) (EU) 2016/399 artiklaan 25 ja artiklaan 27.

Vaihelttaisen rajoitusten purkutoimien periaatteen mukaisesti sisärajavalvonta on samalla päivämäärällä lakkautettu Suomen ja Norjan, Tanskan, Islannin, Viron, Latvian ja Liettuan välisestä liikenteestä.

Henkilöliikenteelle tarkoltetuilla rajanylityspaikoilla on sallittua Suomessa tai muussa EU- tal Schengen-valtiossa asuvien paluuliikenne, työmatkaliikenne ja muu välttämätön liikenne.

Ulkorajaliikenteen osalta aiemmat rajoitukset jatkuvat 14.7.2020 asti.

Ystāvāllisin terveisin,

Maria Ohisalo Sisäministeri

Kirkkokatu 12, Helsinki PL 26, 00023 Valtioneuvosto Vaihde 0295 480 171 | kirjaamo@intermin.fi | www.intermin.fi



Helsinki, 12 June 2020

Mr Margaritis Schinas Vice-President of the European Commission

Ms Ylva Johansson Commissioner for Home Affairs European Commission

Mr Jeppe Tranholm-Mikkelsen Secretary-General of the Council of the European Union

Mr David Maria Sassoli President of the European Parliament

The Ministers of Home Affairs of the EU and Schengen countries

Dear Colleagues,

I would like to inform you that since the coronavirus pandemic still poses a threat to our citizens and to the functioning of our society and economics, the Finnish government has decided to prolong the temporary border control at the internal borders for the period of 15.6.-14.7.2020 on the basis of article 25 and article 27 of the Regulation (EU) 2016/399, on a Union Code on the rules governing the movement of persons across borders (Schengen Borders Code).

According to the phased and gradual approach, as of 15 June 2020 the controls will be lifted at land, sea and air borders with Norway, Denmark, Iceland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.

Regarding the external borders the current restrictions to non-essential travel will continue until 14 July 2020.

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ohisalo

Minister of the Interior

Kirkkokatu 12, Helsinki
PO Box 26, FI-00023 Government
Tel. 0295 480 171 (switchboard) | kirjaamo@intermin.fi (registry) | www.intermin.fi