

Brussels, 5 June 2020 (OR. en, de)

8617/20

**FRONT 152 COMIX 241** 

## **NOTE**

| From:           | Austrian delegation  |
|-----------------|--|
| To:             | Working Party on Frontiers/Mixed Committee   |
|                 | (EU-Iceland/Liechtenstein/Norway/Switerland)   |
| No. prev. doc.: | 8398/20  |
| Subject:        | Lifting of the temporary reintroduction of border controls at the Austria border in accordance with Regulation (EU) 2016/399 on a Union Code on the rules governing the movement of persons across borders (Schengen Borders Code) |

Delegations will find attached a copy of a letter received by the General Secretariat of the Council on 5 June 2020 regarding the lifting of the temporary reintroduction of border controls by Austria at the border with Germany, Switzerland Liechtenstein, Slovakia and Czechia on 4 June 2020.

As regards Italy, based on the notification of 27 May 2020, the prolongation expires on 15 June 2020.

8617/20 GK/cr

EN/DE JAI.1



IM 005366 2020 05.06.2020

bmi.gv.at

Karl Nehammer, MSc Bundesminister

Herr Margaritis SCHINAS Vizepräsident der Europäischen Kommission 1049 Brüssel BELGIEN Bundesministerium für Inneres ministerbuero@bmi.gv.at Herrengasse 7, 1010 Wien, Österreich

Frau Ylva JOHANSSON EU-Kommissarin für Inneres 1049 Brüsse! BELGIEN Wien, 4. Juni 2020

Herr
David SASSOLI
Präsident des
Europäischen Parlaments
1049 Brüssel
BELGIEN

Herr
Jeppe TRANHOLM-MIKKELSEN
Generalsekretariat des Rates
1049 Brüssel
BELGIEN

An die Innenministerinnen/Innenminister der EU und Schengener-Vertragsstaaten Binnengrenzkontrollen: Entwicklungen im Zusammenhang mit "2019 neuartiger Coronavirus"

Sehr geehrter Herr Vizepräsident der Kommission!
Sehr geehrte Frau Kommissarin!
Sehr geehrter Herr Präsident des Europäischen Parlaments!
Sehr geehrter Herr Generalsekretär des Rates!
Sehr geehrte Kolleginnen und Kollegen!

Mit Schreiben vom 27. Mai 2020 informierte ich Sie über die Verlängerung der Grenzkontrollen an der österreichischen Grenze zu Deutschland, Italien, Liechtenstein, der Schweiz, der Slowakei und Tschechien bis einschließlich 15. Juni 2020 aufgrund der Situation im Zusammenhang mit dem SARS-CoV-2 Virus.

Die österreichische Bundesreglerung beobachtet und bewertet nach wie vor permanent die dynamischen Entwicklungen im Zusammenhang mit dem SARS-CoV-2 Virus im In- und Ausland,

In Österreich hält der tendenziell positive Trend weiterhin an. Die positiven Entwicklungen sind auch in unseren Nachbarstaaten Deutschland, Liechtenstein, der Schweiz, der Slowakei, Tschechien, Ungarn und Slowenien zu beobachten. Die gegenwärtige epidemiologische Situation in diesen Nachbarstaaten ermöglicht es Österreich daher die wiedereingeführten Binnengrenzkontrollen zu Deutschland, Liechtenstein, der Schweiz, der Slowakei und Tschechien mit 4. Juni 2020 aufzuheben. Personen, die aus der Schweiz, Liechtenstein, Deutschland, Tschechien, der Slowakei, Ungarn oder Slowenien nach Österreich einreisen und ihren Wohnsitz oder gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt in einem dieser Staaten haben, unterliegen ab diesem Zeitpunkt keinen gesundheitsbehördlichen Maßnahmen mehr. Für alle anderen Personen gelten die bisherigen Maßnahmen weiter.

Die Grenzkontrollen zu Ungarn und Slowenien, die aufgrund der Migrations- und Sicherheitslage eingeführt wurden, bleiben bis 11. November 2020 unverändert.

In diesem Sinne darf ich Sie darüber informieren, dass Österreich ab 4. Juni 2020 keine Grenzkontrollen mehr an der Grenze zu Deutschland, Liechtenstein, der Schweiz, der Slowakei und Tschechien durchführen wird.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Karl Nebammer

2 von 2

## **COURTESY TRANSLATION**

Internal border controls: Developments related to "2019 new coronavirus"

Dear Vice-President of the Commission!
Dear Commissioner!
Dear President of the European Parliament!
Dear Secretary-General of the Council!
Ladies and gentlemen!

In the letter dated May 27<sup>th</sup> 2020 I informed you about the extension of border controls at the Austrian border with Germany, Italy, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, the Slovak Republic and the Czech Republic, up to and including June 15<sup>th</sup> 2020 due to the situation in connection with the SARS-CoV-2 virus.

The Austrian federal government continues to permanently monitor and evaluate the dynamic developments related to the SARS-Cov-2 virus, within the country and abroad.

Austria is continuing to show a positive trend. Positive developments can also be observed in our neighbouring countries Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, the Slovak Republic, the Czech Republic, Hungary and Slovenia. The current epidemiological situation in these neighbouring countries therefore enables Austria to lift the reintroduced internal border controls to Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, the Slovak Republic and the Czech Republic as from June 4<sup>th</sup> 2020. Persons entering Austria from Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Germany, the Czech Republic, the Slovak Republic, Hungary or Slovenia who are permanent or habitual residents in one of these countries are no longer subject to health-related measures. The current measures continue to apply to all other persons.

Border controls with Hungary and Slovenia, which were introduced due to the migration and security situation, will remain unchanged until November 11<sup>th</sup> 2020.

In this regard, I would like to inform you that from June 4<sup>th</sup> 2020, Austria will no longer carry out border controls at the border with Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, the Slovak Republic and the Czech Republic.