

Council of the European Union

Brussels, 25 March 2022 (OR. fr)

7322/22

LIMITE

AGRILEG 36 DENLEG 20 SAN 162 CONSOM 63 RECH 137 MI 203 FOOD 19

Interinstitutional File: 2022/0801(NLE)

'I/A' ITEM NOTE

From:	General Secretariat of the Council
То:	Permanent Representatives Committee (Part 1)/Council
Subject:	COUNCIL DECISION appointing representatives of Member States as members and alternate members of the Management Board of the European Food Safety Authority

- Regulation (EU) 2019/1381 of the European Parliament and of the Council¹ modified the provisions laid down in Regulation (EC) No 178/2002², in particular its Article 25(1) on the composition of the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) Management Board.
- In accordance with Article 25(1) of Regulation (EC) No 178/2002, each Member State nominates a member and an alternate member as its representatives to the Management Board.

LIFE.3

Regulation (EU) 2019/1381 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 20 June 2019 on the transparency and sustainability of the EU risk assessment in the food chain and amending Regulations (EC) No 178/2002, (EC) No 1829/2003, (EC) No 1831/2003, (EC) No 2065/2003, (EC) No 1935/2004, (EC) No 1331/2008, (EC) No 1107/2009, (EU) 2015/2283 and Directive 2001/18/EC (OJ L 231, 6.9.2019, p. 1).

² Regulation (EC) No 178/2002 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 28 January 2002 laying down the general principles and requirements of food law, establishing the European Food Safety Authority and laying down procedures in matters of food safety (OJ L 31, 1.2.2002, p. 1).

- 3. The term of office of the members of the EFSA Management Board in office on 30 June 2022 will expire on that date. The members of the new Management Board must be nominated and appointed in accordance with the new rules so that their term of office may begin on 1 July 2022.
- 4. On 1 October 2021, delegations were invited to notify the Presidency and the General Secretariat of the Council of the names of their representatives nominated as members and alternate members of the EFSA Management Board.
- 5. The Presidency and the General Secretariat of the Council examined the nominations and concluded that the representatives met the necessary conditions, in particular those listed in Article 25(1b) of Regulation (EC) No 178/2002.
- 6. The Permanent Representatives Committee (Part 1) is therefore invited to:
 - endorse the representatives listed in the Annex to this note;
 - recommend that the Council adopt, as an 'A' item at one of its forthcoming meetings, the Decision appointing the representatives of the Member States as members and alternate members of the Management Board of the European Food Safety Authority, as set out, after finalisation of the text by the legal/linguistic experts, in document 7276/22;
 - suggest to the Council to decide to publish the Decision in the *Official Journal of the European Union*.

ANNEX

APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES OF MEMBER STATES AS MEMBERS OF THE MANAGEMENT BOARD OF THE EUROPEAN FOOD SAFETY AUTHORITY

Appointments as members of the EFSA Management Board for the period from 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2026:

- Mr Ulrich Herzog (AT),
- Mr Herman Diricks (BE),
- Mr Georgi Georgiev (BG),
- Mr Stelios Yiannopoulos (CY),
- Mr Jindřich Fialka (CZ),
- Ms Marie-Luise Trebes (DE),
- Ms Annelise Fenger (DK),
- Mr Hendrik Kuusk (EE),
- Mr Antonis Zampelas (EL),
- Ms Isabel Peña-Rey Lorenzo (ES),
- Ms Marjatta Rahkio (FI),
- Mr Roger Genet (FR),
- Ms Darja Sokolić (HR),
- Mr Szabolcs Pásztor (HU),
- Ms Pamela Byrne (IE),

- Mr Massimo Casciello (IT),
- Mr Mantas Staškevičius (LT),
- Mr Patrick Hau (LU),
- Mr Aivars Bērziņš (LV),
- Ms Ingrid Borg (MT),
- Ms Ana Isabel Viloria Alebesque (NL),
- Ms Katarzyna Stoś (PL),
- Ms Ana Batalha (PT),
- Mr Alexandru Nicolae Bociu (RO),
- Ms Annica Sohlström (SE),
- Mr Jernej Drofenik (SI),
- Ms Zuzana Nouzovská (SK).

<u>Appointments as alternate members of the EFSA Management Board for the period from</u> <u>1 July 2022 to 30 June 2026:</u>

- Ms Josefine Sinkovits (AT),
- Mr Carl Berthot (BE),
- Ms Svetlana Tcherkezova (BG),
- Mr Herodotos Herodotou (CY),
- Ms Jitka Götzová (CZ),
- Mr Dietrich Rassow (DE),
- Mr Henrik Dammand Nielsen (DK),
- Ms Pille Tammemägi (EE),

MLL/sc

LIMITE

- Mr George-John Nychas (EL),
- Ms Ana Rodríguez Castaño (ES),
- Mr Sebastian Hielm (FI),
- Mr Loïc Evain (FR),
- Ms Lidija Kozačinski (HR),
- Ms Beáta Czeglédi (HU),
- Ms Patricia Reilly (IE),
- Mr Pierdavide Lecchini (IT),
- Mr Deividas Kliučinskas (LT),
- Mr Marc Weyland (LU),
- Mr Jānis Ruško (LV),
- Mr Rudie Vella (MT),
- Ms Marie-Ange Delen (NL),
- Mr Piotr Jedziniak (PL),
- Ms Susana Pombo (PT),
- Mr Laszlo Csutak-Nagy (RO),
- Ms Hanna Dufva (SE),
- Ms Ana Le Marechal Kolar (SI),
- Mr Martin Polovka (SK).