

Brussels, 29 March 2022 (OR. en)

7276/22

Interinstitutional File: 2022/0801 (NLE)

LIMITE

SAN 159 MI 197 **AGRILEG 34 DENLEG 19 CONSOM 62 RECH 134 FOOD 16**

LEGISLATIVE ACTS AND OTHER INSTRUMENTS

COUNCIL DECISION appointing representatives of Member States as Subject:

members and alternate members of the Management Board of the

European Food Safety Authority

7276/22 JG/RC/vm EN LIFE.3

LIMITE

COUNCIL DECISION

of ...

appointing representatives of Member States as members and alternate members of the Management Board of the European Food Safety Authority

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union,

Having regard to Regulation (EC) No 178/2002 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 28 January 2002 laying down the general principles and requirements of food law, establishing the European Food Safety Authority and laying down procedures in matters of food safety¹, and in particular Article 25(1) thereof,

Having regard to the nominations submitted by Member States to the Council,

_

OJ L 31, 1.2.2002, p. 1.

Whereas:

- (1) It is vital to ensure the independence, high scientific quality, transparency and efficiency of the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA). It is also indispensable to ensure the cooperation of that Authority with Member States.
- (2) Regulation (EU) 2019/1381 of the European Parliament and of the Council¹ modified Regulation (EC) No 178/2002, including its Article 25(1) on the composition of the EFSA Management Board.
- (3) In accordance with Article 10(2) of Regulation (EU) 2019/1381, the term of office of the members of the EFSA Management Board in office on 30 June 2022 will expire on that date. The members and alternate members of the EFSA Management Board whose term of office is to start on 1 July 2022 are to be appointed in accordance with the new procedure for nomination and appointment introduced by Regulation (EU) 2019/1381.
- (4) Article 25(1) of Regulation (EC) No 178/2002 requires that each Member State nominate a member and an alternate member as its representatives to the EFSA Management Board. The members and alternate members thus nominated are appointed by the Council for a period of four years, which may be renewed, and have the right to vote.

2015/2283 and Directive 2001/18/EC (OJ L 231, 6.9.2019, p. 1).

Regulation (EU) 2019/1381 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 20 June 2019 on the transparency and sustainability of the EU risk assessment in the food chain and amending Regulations (EC) No 178/2002, (EC) No 1829/2003, (EC) No 1831/2003, (EC) No 2065/2003, (EC) No 1935/2004, (EC) No 1331/2008, (EC) No 1107/2009, (EU)

- (5) The representatives that have been nominated by Member States have relevant and extensive experience and expertise in the field of food chain law and policy, including risk assessment, and also in the fields of managerial, administrative, financial and legal matters. Their appointment therefore secures within the EFSA Management Board the highest standards of competence and the broadest range of relevant experience available.
- (6) Pursuant to Article 27(2) of Regulation (EC) No 178/2002, representatives appointed as members of the EFSA Management Board by this Decision can no longer be members of the EFSA Advisory Forum,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

The following persons are hereby appointed as members and alternate members of the Management Board of the European Food Safety Authority for the period from 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2026:

Member State	Members	Alternate members
Belgium	Mr Herman DIRICKS	Mr Carl BERTHOT
Bulgaria	Mr Georgi GEORGIEV	Ms Svetlana TCHERKEZOVA
Czechia	Mr Jindřich FIALKA	Ms Jitka GÖTZOVÁ
Denmark	Ms Annelise FENGER	Mr Henrik Dammand NIELSEN
Germany	Ms Marie-Luise TREBES	Mr Dietrich RASSOW
Estonia	Mr Hendrik KUUSK	Ms Pille TAMMEMÄGI
Ireland	Ms Pamela BYRNE	Ms Patricia REILLY
Greece	Mr Antonis ZAMPELAS	Mr George-John NYCHAS

Member State	Members	Alternate members
Spain	Ms Isabel PEÑA-REY LORENZO	Ms Ana RODRÍGUEZ CASTAÑO
France	Mr Roger GENET	Mr Loïc EVAIN
Croatia	Ms Darja SOKOLIĆ	Ms Lidija KOZAČINSKI
Italy	Mr Massimo CASCIELLO	Mr Pierdavide LECCHINI
Cyprus	Mr Stelios YIANNOPOULOS	Mr Herodotos HERODOTOU
Latvia	Mr Aivars BĒRZIŅŠ	Mr Jānis RUŠKO
Lithuania	Mr Mantas STAŠKEVIČIUS	Mr Deividas KLIUČINSKAS
Luxembourg	Mr Patrick HAU	Mr Marc WEYLAND
Hungary	Mr Szabolcs PÁSZTOR	Ms Beáta CZEGLÉDI
Malta	Ms Ingrid BORG	Mr Rudie VELLA
Netherlands	Ms Ana Isabel VILORIA ALEBESQUE	Ms Marie-Ange DELEN
Austria	Mr Ulrich HERZOG	Ms Josefine SINKOVITS

Member State	Members	Alternate members
Poland	Ms Katarzyna STOŚ	Mr Piotr JEDZINIAK
Portugal	Ms Ana BATALHA	Ms Susana POMBO
Romania	Mr Alexandru Nicolae BOCIU	Mr Laszlo CSUTAK-NAGY
Slovenia	Mr Jernej DROFENIK	Ms Ana LE MARECHAL KOLAR
Slovakia	Ms Zuzana NOUZOVSKÁ	Mr Martin POLOVKA
Finland	Ms Marjatta RAHKIO	Mr Sebastian HIELM
Sweden	Ms Annica SOHLSTRÖM	Ms Hanna DUFVA

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the date	of its adoption.
Done at,	
	For the Council
	The President