

Brussels, 29 April 2025 (OR. en)

7210/25

ENT 39 MI 155 COMPET 165 CHIMIE 17 IND 81 ENV 171

LEGISLATIVE ACTS AND OTHER INSTRUMENTS

Subject: COUNCIL DECISION appointing 11 members of the Management Board of the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA)

COUNCIL DECISION

of ...

appointing 11 members of the Management Board of the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union,

Having regard to Regulation (EC) No 1907/2006 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 18 December 2006 concerning the Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation and Restriction of Chemicals (REACH) and establishing a European Chemicals Agency¹, and in particular Article 79 thereof,

Regulation (EC) No 1907/2006 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 18 December 2006 concerning the Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation and Restriction of Chemicals (REACH), establishing a European Chemicals Agency, amending Directive 1999/45/EC and repealing Council Regulation (EEC) No 793/93 and Commission Regulation (EC) No 1488/94 as well as Council Directive 76/769/EEC and Commission Directives 91/155/EEC, 93/67/EEC, 93/105/EC and 2000/21/EC (OJ L 396, 30.12.2006, p. 1, ELI: http://data.europa.eu/eli/reg/2006/1907/oj).

Whereas:

- Article 79 of Regulation (EC) No 1907/2006 provides that the Council is to appoint one representative from each Member State as a member of the Management Board of the European Chemicals Agency (the 'Management Board').
- (2) The Members of the Management Board are to be appointed on the basis of their relevant experience and expertise in the fields of chemical safety or the regulation of chemicals, and on the basis that relevant expertise in the fields of general, financial and legal matters is available amongst the board members.
- (3) The term of office is four years and may be renewed once.
- (4) By Decision of 6 May 2021 the Council appointed 12 Members of the Management Board of the European Chemicals Agency².
- (5) The members of the Management Board nominated by Czechia, Estonia, Spain, Italy, Luxembourg, Hungary, the Netherlands, Austria, Slovenia, Finland, and Sweden were appointed for a period of four years ending on 31 May 2025.
- (6) The Council received the nominations from the Member States concerned,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

² OJ C 185, 12.5.2021, p. 4.

Article 1

The following persons shall be appointed Members of the Management Board for a second term, running from 1 June 2025 to 31 May 2029:

- Mr Per ÄNGQUIST, Sweden;
- Dr Szilvia DEIM, Hungary;
- Mr Jérôme FAÉ, Luxembourg;
- Mr Kees HOPPENER, the Netherlands;
- Dr Pasqualino ROSSI, Italy.

Article 2

The following persons shall be appointed Members of the Management Board for a first term running from 1 June 2025 to 31 May 2029:

- Ms Simona FAJFAR, Slovenia;
- Ms Olivia FALB-NADERER, Austria;
- Ms Marie-Anne HÄRMA, Estonia;
- Ms Almudena OVEJAS ZAPATA, Spain;
- Ms Hinni Maria PAPPONEN, Finland;
- Ms Michaela VYTOPILOVÁ, Czechia.

Article 3

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at ..., ...

For the Council The President