

Brussels, 17 December 2019 (OR. en)

**EUCO 36/19** 

**INST 375 UEM 387** 

# **LEGAL ACTS**

EUROPEAN COUNCIL DECISION appointing two members of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank Subject:

EUCO 36/19 IC/sr EN GSC.GIP.1

## **EUROPEAN COUNCIL DECISION (EU) 2019/...**

of ...

# appointing two members of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank

### THE EUROPEAN COUNCIL,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, and in particular Article 283(2),

Having regard to the recommendations of the Council of the European Union<sup>1</sup>,

Having regard to the opinions of the European Parliament<sup>2</sup>,

Having regard to the opinions of the Governing Council of the European Central Bank<sup>3</sup>,

GSC.GIP.1

\_\_\_\_\_

IC/sr

EN

OJ C 351, 17.10.2019, p. 1; OJ C 385, 13.11.2019, p. 1.

Opinions delivered on 17 December 2019 (not yet published in the Official Journal).

Opinion delivered on 23 October 2019 (OJ C 373, 5.11.2019, p. 2); opinion delivered on 11 December 2019 (not yet published in the Official Journal).

#### Whereas:

- (1) Mr Benoît COEURÉ was appointed member of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank for a term of office of eight years as from 1 January 2012. His term of office expires on 31 December 2019.
- Ms Sabine LAUTENSCHLÄGER was appointed member of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank for a term of office of eight years as from 27 January 2014. By letter dated 26 September 2019, the President of the European Central Bank informed the President of the European Council of Ms Sabine LAUTENSCHLÄGER's decision to resign from her position on the Executive Board with effect from 31 October 2019, prior to the end of her term of office.
- (3) It is therefore necessary to appoint two new members of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank.
- (4) The European Council wishes to appoint Mr Fabio PANETTA and Ms Isabel SCHNABEL who, in its view, fulfil all the requirements set out in Article 283(2) of the Treaty,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

EUCO 36/19 IC/sr 2

GSC.GIP.1 EN

### Article 1

The following are hereby appointed members of the Executive Board of the European Central I	Bank
for a term of office of eight years as from 1 January 2020:	

- Mr Fabio PANETTA,
- Ms Isabel SCHNABEL.

# Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at ...,

For the European Council
The President

EUCO 36/19 IC/sr 3
GSC.GIP.1 EN