

Brussels, 28 August 2014 (OR. en)

12668/14

FRONT 177 COMIX 420

NOTE

From:	Estonian delegation
To:	Working Party on Frontiers/Mixed Committee
	(EU-Iceland/Liechtenstein/Norway/Switzerland)
Subject:	Temporary reintroduction of border controls at the Estonian internal borders in accordance with Articles 23(1) and 24 of Regulation (EC) No 562/2006 establishing a Community Code on the rules governing the movement of persons across borders (Schengen Borders Code)

Delegations will find attached a copy of the letter received by the General Secretariat of the Council on 28 August 2014 regarding temporary reintroduction of border controls by Estonia at its internal borders between 31 August - 3 September 2014.

12668/14 PR/ml 1

DG D 1A EN



The European Commission The Council of European Union The European Parliament 26.08.14 nr 5-3/8-1

Temporary reintroduction of border control at the internal borders of Estonia

Dear Madam/Sir

On 3 September Estonia will host the state visit of the President of the United States of America Mr Barack H. Obama and possibly host other heads of state from the region. The fact of the state visit became known to Estonian authorities less than four weeks before the visit.

Pursuant to the article 23 (1) and in accordance with Article 24 of regulation no 562/2006 of the European Parliament and of the Council establishing a Community Code on the rules governing the movement of persons across the borders and in accordance with the Estonian State Borders Act Article 11³, the Estonian Government with the regulation no 134 of the 21th of August 2014 decided to temporary reintroduce border controls at the internal borders of Estonia from 31th of August 2014 (02:00 PM; 14:00) until 3th of September 2014 (11:59PM; 23:59). The regulation also states, that the reintroduction of border controls will be ended as soon as possible when the President of the United States of America leaves the Estonian Republic. Increased security measures are required to guarantee public order and internal security.

These controls will be introduced at our maritime and air borders as well as at the land border with the Republic of Latvia. Border control will be limited to strictly necessary measures in order to ensure public policy and to safeguard the internal security. At our internal land border, temporary border control will be carried out at all border crossing roads and railway connections. The names of the authorised crossing-points are listed in the annex of this letter.

Additionally, widespread public communication will be used to notify people possibly affected by the reintroduction of border controls to minimize any inconvenience.

Yours sincerely.

Hanno Pevkur

Minister of the Interior

Annex: List of authorised crossing-points

ÜHTSUS * KOOSTÖÖV ALMIDUS * LAHENDUSEKESKSUS * EESMÄRGIPÄRASUS

Pikk 61, Tallinn

15065 ESTONIA Reg. nr 70000562 telefon: +372 612 5008

faks: +372 612 5087

www.siseministeerium.ee e-post: info@siseministeerium.ee

12668/14 PR/ml 2
DG D 1A EN

014732

Temporary border crossing points at the border of the Republic of Estonia and the Republic of Latvia

Name	Location
Holdre piiripunkt	Holdre-Läti piir, maantee
Ikla piiripunkt	Tallinn–Pärnu–Ikla maantee
Lilli piiripunkt	Karksi-Nuia-Lilli maantee
Murati piiripunkt	Riia–Pihkva maantee
Mõisaküla piiripunkt	Mõisaküla tee
Valga-1 piiripunkt	Valga-Uulu maantee
Valga-2 piiripunkt	Valga, Raja tänav
Valga-3 piiripunkt	Valga, Sepa tänav
Vana-Ikla piiripunkt	Rannametsa–Ikla maantee
Vastse-Roosa piiripunkt	Mõniste–Ape maantoo

Temporary railway border crossing points at the border of the Republic of Estonia and the Republic of Latvia

Name	Location
Valga raudtee piiripunkt	Valga raudteejaam

Temporary border crossing points at ports

Name	Location
Dirhami piiripunkt	Dirhami sadam
Heltermaa piiripunkt	Heltermaa sadam
Kunda piiripunkt	Kunđa sadam
Lehtma piiripunkt	Lehtma sadam

1(3)

12668/14 PR/ml DG D 1A F.N

I****	
Loksa piiripunkt	Loksa sadam
Miiduranna piiripunkt	Miiduranna sadam
Muuga piiripunkt	Muuga sadam
Mõntu piiripunkt	Mõntu sadam
Narva-Jõesuu piiripunkt	Narva-Jõesuu sadam
Paldiski-1 piiripunkt	Paldiski Põhjasadam
Paldiski-2 piiripunkt	Paldiski Lõunasadam
Pärnu-2 piiripunkt	Pärnu sadam
Rohuküla piiripunkt	Rohuküla sadam
Roomassaare piiripunkt	Roomassaare sadam
Saaremaa sadama piiripunkt	Saaremaa sadam
Sillamäe sadama piiripunkt	Sillamäe sadam
Tallinna-2 piiripunkt	Meeruse sadam
Tallinna-3 piiripunkt	Bekkeri sadam
Tallinna-4 piiripunkt	Vene-Balti sadam
Tallinna-5 piiripunkt	Paljassaare sadam
Tallinna-8 piiripunkt	Peetri sadam
Tallinna-10 piiripunkt	Patareisadam
Tallinna-11 piiripunkt	Vanasadam
Tallinna-12 piiripunkt	Pirita sadam
Veere piiripunkt	Veere sadam
Vergi piiripunkt	Vergi sadam
Virtsu piiripunkt	Virtsu sadam

2(3)

Temporary border crossing points at airports

Name	Location
Kuressaare-2 piiripunkt	Kuressaare lennujaam
Kärdla piiripunkt	Kärdla lennujaam
Pärnu-1 piiripunkt	Pärnu lennujaam
Tallinna-1 piiripunkt	Tallinna lennujaam
Tallinna-13 piiripunkt	Linnahalli helikopteriterminal
Tartu-1 piiripunkt	Tartu lennujaam
Ämari piiripunkt	Ämari lennujaam

3(3)

12668/14 PR/ml 5
DG D 1A EN