

Brussels, 25 September 2020 (OR. en, fi)

11161/20

FRONT 258 COMIX 412

## **NOTE**

From:	Finnish delegation
To:	Working Party on Frontiers/Mixed Committee (EU-Iceland/Liechtenstein/
	Norway/Switzerland)
No. prev. doc.:	10744/20
Subject:	Extension of the temporary reintroduction of border controls at the Finnish internal borders in accordance with Regulation (EU) 2016/399 on a Union Code on the rules governing the movement of persons across borders (Schengen Borders Code)

Delegations will find attached a copy of the letter received by the General Secretariat of the Council on XX September 2020 regarding the extension of the temporary reintroduction of internal border controls by Finland between 19 September and 18 October 2020.

11161/20 GK/cr 1 JAI.1 **EN/FI** 





IM 008840 2020 25.09.2020

Heisinki, / syyskuuta 2020

Komissaari Margaritis Schinas Euroopan komission varapuheenjohtaja

Komissaari Ylva Johansson Euroopan komissio

Pääsihteeri Jeppe Tranholm-Mikkelsen Euroopan unionin neuvoston pääsihteeristö

Puhemies David Maria Sassoli Euroopan parlamentti

EU ja Schengen-valtioiden sisäministerit

Hyvät kollegat,

Suomen hallitus teki 11.9.2020 päätöksen valvonnan väliaikaisesta palauttamisesta sisärajoille 19.9.–18.10.2020 väliseksi ajaksi.

Epidemiologiseen arvioon perustuen päätöstä muutetaan 28.9.2020 alkaen niin, että sisärajavalvonta palautetaan uudelleen Suomen ja Islannin, Norjan, Ruotsin, Saksan, Slovakian ja Viron väliseen liikenteeseen huvialusliikennettä lukuun ottamatta.

Tänään tehdyllä päätöksellä valvontaa suoritetaan Suomen ja Alankomaiden, Belgian, Espanjan, Itävallan, Luxemburgin, Portugalin, Ranskan, Slovenlan, Sveitsin, Tšekin, Kreikan, Tanskan, Italian, Unkarin, Maltan, Islannin, Norjan, Ruotsin, Saksan, Slovakian ja Viron välisessä liikenteessä huvialusliikennettä lukuun ottamatta.

Ulkorajojen osalta päätöstä muutetaan 28.9.2020 alkaen niin, että ulkorajaliikenteen rajoitukset poistuvat San Marinosta Suomeen saapuvasta liikenteestä. Ulkorajaliikenteen rajoitukset palautetaan Georgian, Kanadan ja Tunisian asukkaille mainituista maista Suomeen saapuvassa liikenteessä.

Muutokset tulevat voimaan 28.9.2020.

Ystävällisin terveisin,

Maria Ohisalo Sisäministeri

Kirkkokatu 12, Helsinki PL 26, 00023 Valtioneuvosto Vaihde 0295 480 171 | kirjaamo@intermin.fi | www.intermin.fi



Helsinki, September 2020

Mr Margaritis Schinas Vice-President of the European Commission

Ms Ylva Johansson Commissioner for Home Affairs European Commission

Mr Jeppe Tranholm-Mikkelsen Secretary-General of the Council of the European Union

Mr David Maria Sassoli President of the European Parliament

The Ministers of Home Affairs of the EU and Schengen countries

Dear Colleagues,

The Finnish Government made 11.9.2020 a decision to reintroduce controls at the internal borders between 19.9.—18.10.2020.

The Finnish Government made today a decision to reintroduce controls at the internal borders between Finland and Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Germany, Slovakia and Estonia with the exception of leisure boats.

The border controls are reintroduced between Finland and Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, Austria, Luxembourg, Portugal, France, Slovenia, Switzerland, Czech Republic, Greece, Denmark, Italy, Hungary, Malta, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Germany, Slovakia and Estonia with the exception of leisure boats.

Regarding the external borders the current restrictions to non-essential travel will continue, except lifting restrictions with San Marino. Restrictions will be reintroduced between Finland and Georgia, Canada and Tunisia.

These changes enter into force on 28 September 2020.

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ohisalo Minister of the Interior