

Brussels, 4 July 2022 (OR. en)

10972/22

AG 81 INST 263

#### **COVER NOTE**

From:	General Secretariat of the Council
To:	Delegations
Subject:	Summary report of the 11th meeting of the Executive Board of the Conference on the Future of Europe

Delegations will find in the annex the summary report of the 11th meeting of the Executive Board of the Conference on the Future of Europe and the list of participants.

10972/22 MS/lt GIP.COFE **EN** 



#### Summary report of the eleventh meeting of the Executive Board

#### of the Conference on the Future of Europe

#### Friday 6 May 2022

#### 17.00 - 18.30, Justus Lipsius building, room 50.4, hybrid meeting

**Participants:** please see the list of participants in annex

#### Summary and conclusions:

On 6 May 2022, the Executive Board of the Conference on the Future of Europe held its eleventh and final meeting and discussed the conclusion of the work of the Conference and the Conference's closing event on the 9<sup>th</sup> of May.

The meeting was co-chaired by Member of the European Parliament, Guy VERHOFSTADT and Commission Vice-President for Democracy and Demography, Dubravka ŠUICA. Due to unforeseen circumstances, Co-Chair Clément BEAUNE was excused and represented for this meeting.

The Executive Board exchanged views on the report on the final outcome of the Conference and agreed on three changes to the draft report. The Executive Board endorsed the amended report.

The Executive Board took note of the program of the closing event of the Conference.

10972/22 MS/lt 1 GIP.COFE **FN** 

## 1. Conclusion of the work of the Conference - Conclusions of the Plenary by the Executive Board, and Endorsement of the report on the final outcome of the Conference

Guy Verhofstadt (Co-Chair) opened the meeting by explaining that the Executive Board had been convened for a final time to draw the conclusions of the Conference Plenary and to endorse the report on the final outcome of the Conference. He described the elements of the draft report and opened the floor for comments.

In the exchange of views the following comments were made:

- The non-inclusion of the reference to 'abolishing the right of veto in the European Council established in Art.7.2 TEU' in the proposals submitted to the Plenary and which gathered the consensus of the Plenary, was raised and a suggestion was made to put the reference to the specific article back in.
- A change was proposed to the part on national events of Hungary (point 17); to further highlight the broad variety and large number of the events organised in the country.
- Two changes were proposed in the 7th Plenary part of Plenary's chronological summary. On the part on the Executive Board; to substitute 'endorses' for 'takes note' of the proposals put forward by the Conference Plenary and to add "presents them as the final outcome of the Conference". On the part on the Council component; to change the sentence from "but were active advocates of recommendations and positions expressed by the citizens" to "but instead supported and encouraged the activities of citizens and took note of their recommendations".
- The late reception of the draft report on the final outcome of the conference was raised.

Following the exchange of views, the Executive Board:

- Agreed to make changes to the part on the national events in Hungary.
- Agreed to make both proposed changes in the part on the 7th Plenary.
- Did not agree on putting back in the reference to Article 7.2 TEU nor any of the suggested alternatives in the proposals.

The Executive Board endorsed the report on the final outcome of the Conference, with the three above-mentioned agreed changes to the text.

10972/22 MS/lt 2 GIP.COFE **F.N** 

#### **Conclusion:**

The Executive Board endorsed the report on the final outcome of the Conference, with three changes to the draft text.

#### 2. Closing event on 9 May

Guy Verhofstadt (Co-Chair) provided an overview of the closing event of the Conference on the Future of Europe, taking place on 9 May.

#### **Conclusion:**

The Executive Board took note of the programme of the closing event of the Conference

Contact: Jelmer Hofkamp, member of the Common Secretariat

#### EXECUTIVE BOARD MEETING CONFERENCE ON THE FUTURE OF EUROPE

# 6 May 2022, 17.00-18.30, Justus Lipsius building, room 50.4, hybrid meeting PARTICIPANTS LIST

Green: confirmed physical presence Yellow: confirmed remote presence

CO-CHAIR	Mr Guy VERHOFSTADT
	Member of the European Parliament (Renew Europe, BE)
CO-CHAIR	Ms Dubravka ŠUICA
	Vice-President of the European Commission
	and the state of t
MEMBER	Mr Mikuláš BEK (CZ)
WILWIDLK	State Secretary for EU Affairs
	State Secretary for EO Affairs
) (E) (DED	MANA PANA OPENA (OP)
MEMBER	Mr Hans DAHLGREN (SE)
	Minister for EU Affairs
MEMBER	Mr Manfred WEBER
	Member of the European Parliament (EPP, DE)
OBSERVER	Mr Hendrik van de Velde
	Special Envoy
	Special Envey
OBSERVER	Mr Pascual NAVARRO (ES)
ODSERVER	
	Secretary of State for EU Affairs
OBSERVER	Ms Boglárka Bólya
	Secretary of State for EU Affairs
OBSERVER	Mr Daniel FREUND
	Member of the European Parliament (Verdes/ALE, DE)
OBSERVER	Mr Helmut SCHOLZ
	Member of the European Parliament (The Left, DE)
	internet of the European I attainent (The Eart, EE)
OBSERVER	Ms Christa SCHWENG
(EESC)	President of the European Economic and Social Committee
Invited	

OBSERVER	Apostolos TZITZIKOSTAS
invited	President of the Committee of the Regions
OBSERVER	Ms Valeria Ronzitti
(SGI Europe)	Secretary General of SGI Europe
Invited	
OBSERVER	Mr Luca VISENTINI
(ETUC)	Secretary General of ETUC
Invited	
OBSERVER	David SMOLJAK
COSAC	CZ Senate
OBSERVER	Sabine THILLAYE
COSAC	Assemblée nationale
OBSERVER	Bojan Kekec
COSAC	SI Drzavni Svet
CO-HEAD OF	Ms Marta ARPIO
COMMON	
SECRETARIAT	
CO-HEAD OF	Mr Guillaume McLAUGHLIN
COMMON	
SECRETARIAT	
CO HEAD OF	M C I. COLOT IDIA
CO-HEAD OF	Mr Colin SCICLUNA
COMMON	
SECRETARIAT	

### **EXCUSED**

CO-CHAIR	Mr Clément BEAUNE (FR)
	Secretary of State for EU Affairs
MEMBER	Ms Iratxe Garcia Perez
	Member of the European Parliament (S&D, ES)
MEMBER	Mr Maros SEFCOVIC
	Vice-President of the European Commission
MEMBER	Ms Věra JOUROVÁ
	Vice-President of the European Commission
OBSERVER	Konrad SZYMAŃSKI (PL)
	State Secretary for EU Affairs
OBSERVER	Mr Gerolf ANNEMANS
	Member of the European Parliament (ID, BE)
OBSERVER	Mr Zdzisław KRASNODĘBSKI
	Member of the European Parliament (ECR, PL)
OBSERVER	Ondrej BENESIK,
COSAC	CZ national assembly
OBSERVER	Jean-François RAPIN,
COSAC	FR Senate
OBSERVER	Marko POGACNIK
COSAC	SI Drzavni Zbor