

Brussels, 14 September 2020 (OR. en, fi)

10744/20

FRONT 240 COMIX 394

NOTE

From:	Finnish delegation
To:	Working Party on Frontiers/Mixed Committee (EU-Iceland/Liechtenstein/
	Norway/Switzerland)
No. prev. doc.:	10179/20
Subject:	Prolongation of the temporary reintroduction of border controls at the Finnish internal borders in accordance with Regulation (EU) 2016/399 on a Union Code on the rules governing the movement of persons across borders (Schengen Borders Code)

Delegations will find attached a copy of the letter received by the General Secretariat of the Council on 11 September 2020 regarding the prolongation of the temporary reintroduction of internal border controls by Finland between 19 September and 18 October 2020.

10744/20 GK/cr 1 JAI.1 **EN/FI**





IM 008384 2020 11.09 2020

Helsinki, September 2020

Mr Margaritis Schinas Vice-President of the European Commission

Ms Ylva Johansson Commissioner for Home Affairs European Commission

Mr Jeppe Tranholm-Mikkelsen Secretary-General of the Council of the European Union

Mr David Maria Sassoli President of the European Parliament

The Ministers of Home Affairs of the EU and Schengen countries

Dear Colleagues,

The second wave of the Covid-19 is causing a serious threat to the internal security in Finland. For this reason, the Finnish Government has made today a decision to introduce controls at the internal borders on 19.9 – 18.10.2020 based on the estimation of epidemic situation. The internal controls are introduced in accordance with SBC article 25 and 27. The difference on epidemic situation between Finland and other Schengen-countries and the ongoing increase of the infection rate requires internal border controls between Finland and the countries with high infection rate.

Finland is preparing measures to compensate internal border controls and the general restrictions for border traffic. Compensating measures require updates on national legislation. Finnish Government aims to replace the internal border controls with other health security measures during November 2020.

Based on today's decision, the border controls will be introduced between Finland and Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, Austria, Luxembourg, Portugal, France, Slovenia, Switzerland, Czech Republic, Greece, Denmark, Italy, Hungary and Malta with the exception of leisure boats.

This decision enters into force on 19 September 2020.

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ohisalo Minister of the Interior

Kirkkokatu 12, Helsinki PO Box 26, Fi-00023 Government Tel. 0295 480 171 (switchboard) | kirjaamo@intermin.fi (registry) | www.intermin.fi

TEMPORARY CONTROLS AT INTERNAL BORDERS

Permissible border crossing points are:

Air traffic:

- Enontekiö, Helsinki-Malmi, Helsinki-Vantaa, Ivalo, Joensuu, Jyväskylä, Kajaani, Kemi-Tornio, Kittilä, Kokkola-Pietarsaari, Kuopio, Kuusamo, Lappeenranta, Maarianhamina, Mikkeli, Oulu, Pori, Rovaniemi, Savonlinna, Seinäjoki, Tampere-Pirkkala, Turku ja Vaasa airports: Cargo and passenger traffic.
- Ahvenanmaa, Hanko and Helsinki coast guard stations: Passenger traffic (departures and arrivals from water)

Maritime traffic:

- Eckerö, Eurajoki, Färjsund, Förby, Hamina, Hanko, Haukipudas, Helsinki, Inkoo, Kalajoki, Kaskinen, Kemi, Kemiö, Kirkkonummi, Kokkola, Kotka, Kristiinankaupunki, Lappeenranta, Loviisa, Långnäs, Maarianhamina, Merikarvia, Naantali, Nuijamaa, Oulu, Parainen, Pernaja, Pietarsaari, Pohja, Pori, Porvoo, Raahe, Rauma, Salo, Sipoo, Taalintehdas, Tammisaari, Tornio, Turku, Uusikaupunki and Vaasa ports: Cargo and passenger traffic.







Helsinki, syyskuuta 2020

Komissaari Margaritis Schinas Euroopan komission varapuheenjohtaja

Komissaari Ylva Johansson Euroopan komissio

Pääsihteeri Jeppe Tranholm-Mikkelsen Euroopan unionin neuvoston pääsihteeristö

Puhemies David Maria Sassoli Euroopan parlamentti

EU ja Schengen-valtioiden sisäministerit

Hyvät kollegat,

Covid-19-tartuntatautiepidemian toinen aalto aiheuttaa vakavan uhkan Suomen sisäiselle turvallisuudelle. Tästä syystä Suomen hallitus on tehnyt tänään epidemiologiseen arvioon perustuvan päätöksen palauttaa valvonnan sisärajoilla 19.9.–18.10.2020 väliseksi ajaksi. Valvonta palautetaan Schengenin rajasäännöstön (EU) 2016/399 artiklan 25 ja 27 perusteella. Erot Suomen ja muun Schengen-alueen välisessä epidemiatilanteessa sekä nyt meneillään oleva tartuntojen leviämisen uusi kiihtymisvaihe edellyttävät Suomessa sisärajavalvontaa korkean tartuntatilanteen maiden osaita.

Suomi valmistelee toimenpiteltä, jollla voidaan korvata sisärajavalvonta ja rajaliikenteen yleisemmät rajoitukset. Korvaavien toimenpiteiden käyttöönotto edellyttää muutoksia kansalliseen lainsäädäntöön. Suomen hallituksen tavoitteena on korvata sisärajatarkastukset muilla terveysturvallisuuden keinoilla marraskuun 2020 kuluessa.

Tänään tehdyllä päätöksellä valvontaa suoritetaan Suomen ja Alankomalden, Belglan, Espanjan, Itävallan, Luxemburgin, Portugalin, Ranskan, Slovenian, Sveitsin, Tšekin, Kreikan, Tanskan, Italian, Unkarin ja Maltan välisessä liikenteessä huvialusliikennettä lukuun

Tämä päätös tulee voimaan 19.9.2020.

Ystävällisin terveisin,

Maria Ohisalo Sisäministeri

Kirkkokatu 12, Helsinki PL 26, 00023 Valtioneuvosto Valhde 0295 480 171 | kirjaamo@Intermin.fi | www.intermin.fi

VALVONNAN VÄLIAIKAINEN PALAUTTAMINEN SISÄRAJOILLE

Sallittuja sisärajan rajanylityspaikkoja ovat

lentoliikenteessä:

- Enontekiön, Helsinki-Malmin, Helsinki-Vantaan, Ivalon, Joensuun, Jyväskylän, Kajaanin, Kemi-Tornion, Kittilän, Kokkola-Pietarsaaren, Kuopion, Kuusamon, Lappeenrannan, Maarianhaminan, Mikkelin, Oulun, Porin, Rovaniemen, Savonlinnan, Seinäjoen, Tampere-Pirkkalan, Turun ja Vaasan lentoasemat: tavaraliikenne ja henkilöliikenne
- Ahvenanmaan, Hangon ja Helsingin merivartioasemat: henkilöliikenne (vedestä lähtevät ja veteen saapuvat lentokoneet)

vesiliikenteessä:

- Eckerön, Eurajoen, Färjsundetin, Förbyn, Haminan, Hangon, Haukiputaan, Helsingin, Inkoon, Kalajoen, Kaskisten, Kemin, Kemiön, Kirkkonummen, Kokkolan, Kotkan, Kristiinankaupungin, Lappeenrannan, Loviisan, Långnäsin, Maarianhaminan, Merikarvian, Naantalin, Nuijamaan, Oulun, Paraisten, Pernajan, Pietarsaaren, Pohjan, Porin, Porvoon, Raahen, Rauman, Salon, Sipoon, Taalintehtaan, Tammisaaren, Tornion, Turun, Uudenkaupungin ja Vaasan satamat: tavaraliikenne ja henkilöliikenne