

Brussels, 20 August 2020 (OR. en, fi)

10179/20

FRONT 220 COMIX 353

NOTE

From:	Finnish delegation
To:	Working Party on Frontiers/Mixed Committee (EU-Iceland/Liechtenstein/
	Norway/Switzerland)
No. prev. doc.:	10148/20
Subject:	Prolongation of the temporary reintroduction of border controls at the Finnish internal borders in accordance with Regulation (EU) 2016/399 on a Union Code on the rules governing the movement of persons across borders (Schengen Borders Code)

Delegations will find attached a copy of the letter received by the General Secretariat of the Council on 20 August 2020 regarding the prolongation of the temporary reintroduction of internal border controls by Finland until 18 September 2020.

10179/20 RU/ml 1
JAI.1 **EN/FI**



IM 007793 2020 20.08.2020



Helsinki, 20 August 2020

Mr Margaritis Schinas Vice-President of the European Commission

Ms Ylva Johansson Commissioner for Home Affairs European Commission

Mr Jeppe Tranholm-Mikkelsen Secretary-General of the Council of the European Union

Mr David Maria Sassoli President of the European Parliament

The Ministers of Home Affairs of the EU and Schengen countries

Dear Colleagues,

The Finnish Government made 17.3.2020 a decision to reintroduce controls at the internal borders. Simultaneously Government decided to temporarily close certain border crossing points and limit traffic. These decisions have been prolonged with decisions made 7.4.2020, 7.5.2020, 12.6.2020, 10.7.2020, 23.7.2020 and 6.8.2020.

The Finnish Government made today, based on epidemiological evaluation, a decision to prolong controls at the internal borders until 18 September 2020.

The border controls will continue between Finland and Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, Austria, Luxembourg, Portugal, Poland, France, Sweden, Slovenia, Switzerland and Czech Republic, with the exception of leisure boats. Additionally, the Finnish Government made today a decision to reintroduce controls at the internal borders between Finland and Iceland, Greece, Malta, Norway, Germany and Denmark with the exception of leisure boats.

Open border crossing points for cargo and passenger traffic at the Finnish-Norwegian land borders are Karigasniemi, Kilpisjärvi, Kivilompolo, Nuorgam, Näätämö and Utsjoki.

These changes enter into force on 24 August 2020.

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ohisalo Minister of the Interior

Kirkkokatu 12, Helsinki
PO Box 26, FI-00023 Government
Tel. 0295 480 171 (switchboard) | kirjaamo@intermin.fi (registry) | www.intermin.fi



Helsinki, 20. elokuuta 2020

Komissaari Margaritis Schinas Euroopan komission varapuheenjohtaja

Komissaari Ylva Johansson Euroopan komissio

Pääsihteeri Jeppe Tranholm-Mikkelsen Euroopan unionin neuvoston pääsihteeristö

Puhemies David Maria Sassoli Euroopan parlamentti

EU ja Schengen-valtioiden sisäministerit

Hyvät kollegat,

Suomen hallitus teki 17.3.2020 päätöksen valvonnan väliaikaisesta palauttamisesta sisärajoille. Päätösten voimassaoloa on jatkettu 7.4.2020, 7.5.2020, 12.6.2020, 10.7.2020, 23.7.2020 ja 6.8.2020 tehdyillä päätöksillä.

Suomen hallitus on tehnyt tänään epidemiologiseen arvioon perustuvan päätöksen jatkaa valvontaa sisärajoilla 18.9.2020 asti.

Valvonta jatkuu Suomen ja Alankomaiden, Belgian, Espanjan, Itävallan, Luxemburgin, Portugalin, Puolan, Ranskan, Ruotsin, Slovenian, Sveitsin ja Tšekin välisessä liikenteessä huvialusliikennettä lukuun ottamatta. Lisäksi sisärajavalvonta palautetaan epidemiologisen tilanteen vuoksi Suomen ja Islannin, Kreikan, Maltan, Norjan, Saksan ja Tanskan väliseen liikenteeseen, huvialusliikennettä lukuun ottamatta.

Siltä osin kuin sisärajavalvonta on palautettu Suomen ja Norjan välisellä maarajalla, sisärajan rajanylityspaikkoja ovat tavara- ja henkilöliikenteen osalta: Karigasniemi, Kilpisjärvi, Kivilompolo, Nuorgam, Näätämö ja Utsjoki.

Muutokset tulevat voimaan 24.8.2020.

Ystävällisin terveisin,

Maria Ohisalo Sisäministeri

Kirkkokatu 12, Helsinki PL 26, 00023 Valtioneuvosto Vaihde 0295 480 171 | kirjaamo@intermin.fi | www.intermin.fi