

Brussels, 2 June 2023 (OR. en)

10061/23

**COPEN 181 JAI 767** 

From:	Slovenian Delegation
To:	Council
Subject:	Diplomatic Conference for the Adoption of the Convention on International Cooperation in the Investigation and Prosecution of Genocide, Crimes against Humanity, War Crimes and other International Crimes (MLA Convention) (Ljubljana, 15 to 26 May 2023)
	- Information from Slovenia

Delegations will find attached an explanatory note by the SI delegation on the above-mentioned subject.

10061/23 SC/vj JAI.2

## Diplomatic Conference for the Adoption of the Mutual Legal Assistance (MLA) Convention

(Ljubljana, 15 to 26 May 2023)

## **Explanatory note**

From 15 to 26 May 2023, Ljubljana hosted the MLA Diplomatic Conference. The participating 70 States negotiated and adopted the text of the Ljubljana - the Hague Convention on International Cooperation in the Investigation and Prosecution of the Crime of Genocide, Crimes against Humanity, War Crimes and other International Crimes.

The new Convention provides for the missing link in exercising common international cooperation mechanisms in investigating and prosecuting international crimes. It will significantly enhance the capability of State Parties to exercise their primary responsibility to deal with international crimes.

The Convention is consistent with the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court (ICC) and other international law obligations of the States. It will strengthen the existing international criminal law principles, including the principle of complementarity of the ICC.

By establishing international cooperation and mutual legal assistance in investigation and prosecution of crimes of genocide, crimes against humanity, war crimes and other international crimes, the new Convention now presents a global common framework – a global cooperation mechanism.

The Ljubljana - the Hague Convention is scheduled to be open for signature in the first quarter of 2024, after the final revision of the text.

The MLA Initiative was led by Argentina, Belgium, Mongolia, the Netherlands, Senegal and Slovenia.