

Brussels, 12 March 2019 (OR. en)

6756/19

Interinstitutional File: 2018/0429 (NLE)

TRANS 133
EU-GNSS 9
MAR 46
AVIATION 30
ESPACE 15
RELEX 177
CSC 77
COREE 5

LEGISLATIVE ACTS AND OTHER INSTRUMENTS

Subject:

Protocol to the Cooperation Agreement on a Civil Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) between the European Community and its Member States, of the one part, and the Republic of Korea, of the other part, to take account of the accession of the Republic of Bulgaria, the Republic of Croatia and Romania to the European Union

PROTOCOL

TO THE COOPERATION AGREEMENT
ON A CIVIL GLOBAL NAVIGATION SATELLITE SYSTEM (GNSS)
BETWEEN THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITY
AND ITS MEMBER STATES, OF THE ONE PART,
AND THE REPUBLIC OF KOREA, OF THE OTHER PART,
TO TAKE ACCOUNT OF THE ACCESSION OF THE REPUBLIC OF BULGARIA,
THE REPUBLIC OF CROATIA AND ROMANIA TO THE EUROPEAN UNION

THE EUROPEAN UNION,
and
THE KINGDOM OF BELGIUM,
THE REPUBLIC OF BULGARIA,
THE CZECH REPUBLIC,
THE KINGDOM OF DENMARK,
THE FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF GERMANY,
THE REPUBLIC OF ESTONIA,
IRELAND,
THE HELLENIC REPUBLIC,
THE KINGDOM OF SPAIN,
THE FRENCH REPUBLIC,
THE REPUBLIC OF CROATIA,

THE ITALIAN REPUBLIC, THE REPUBLIC OF CYPRUS, THE REPUBLIC OF LATVIA, THE REPUBLIC OF LITHUANIA, THE GRAND DUCHY OF LUXEMBOURG, HUNGARY, THE REPUBLIC OF MALTA, THE KINGDOM OF THE NETHERLANDS, THE REPUBLIC OF AUSTRIA, THE REPUBLIC OF POLAND, THE PORTUGUESE REPUBLIC, ROMANIA,

THE REPUBLIC OF SLOVENIA,	
THE SLOVAK REPUBLIC,	
THE REPUBLIC OF FINLAND,	
THE KINGDOM OF SWEDEN,	
THE UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN	AND NORTHERN IRELAND,
hereinafter referred to as the "Member States",	
	of the one part, and
THE REPUBLIC OF KOREA,	
	of the other part,
RECALLING the Cooperation Agreement on a Civil Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS	

RECALLING the Cooperation Agreement on a Civil Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) between the European Community and its Member States, of the one part, and the Republic of Korea, of the other part (hereinafter referred to as the "Agreement"), signed on 9 September 2006, which entered into force on 1 July 2016, and, in particular, Article 18(3) thereof;

HAVING REGARD TO the accession of the Republic of Bulgaria and Romania to the European Union on 1 January 2007 and the accession of the Republic of Croatia to the European Union on 1 July 2013;

DESIRING that the Republic of Bulgaria, the Republic of Croatia and Romania accede to the Agreement;

CONSIDERING Article 6(2) of the Act concerning the conditions of accession of the Republic of Bulgaria and Romania, Article 6(2) of the Act concerning the conditions of accession of the Republic of Croatia, and the adjustments to the Treaties on which the European Union is founded, the accession of these States to the Agreement is to be agreed by the conclusion of a protocol to the Agreement,

HAVE AGREED AS FOLLOWS:

ARTICLE 1

The Republic of Bulgaria, the Republic of Croatia and Romania shall be Parties to the Cooperation Agreement on a Civil Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) between the European Community and its Member States, of the one part, and the Republic of Korea, of the other part, and shall respectively adopt and take note, in the same manner as the other Member States, of the text of the Agreement.

ARTICLE 2

This Protocol shall form an integral part of the Agreement.

ARTICLE 3

The texts of the Agreement drawn up in the Bulgarian, Croatian and Romanian languages are attached to this Protocol.

ARTICLE 4

This Protocol shall enter into force on the first day of the month following the date on which the Parties have notified the Depository of the Agreement through diplomatic notes of the completion of their respective internal legal procedures for the entry into force of this Protocol.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned, being duly authorised thereto by their respective Governments, have signed this Protocol.

Done in duplicate in the Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish and Korean languages, each text being equally authentic.

FOR THE EUROPEAN UNION

FOR THE MEMBER STATES

FOR THE REPUBLIC OF KOREA