

Council of the European Union



PRESS RELEASE ST 14387/14 PRESSE 528 Brussels, 15 October 2014

Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the European Union on the alignment of certain third countries with Council Decision 2014/658/CFSP amending Council Decision 2014/145/CFSP concerning restrictive measures in respect of actions undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine

On 8 September 2014, the Council adopted Council Decision 2014/658/CFSP¹.

This Decision amends the listing criteria to allow for the listing of legal persons, entities or bodies conducting transactions with the separatist groups in the Donbass region of Ukraine.

The Decision also amends the list of persons, entities and bodies subject to restrictive measures as set out in the Annex to Decision 2014/145/CFSP, adding 24 persons to the list.

The Candidate Countries Montenegro*, Iceland+, and Albania*, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine align themselves with this Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

¹ Published on 12.9.2014 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 271, p. 47.

^{*} Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

⁺ Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.