

Brussels, 30 November 2018 (OR. en)

14019/18

Interinstitutional File: 2018/0384(NLE)

SERVICES 69 WTO 286

'I/A' ITEM NOTE

From:	General Secretariat of the Council
To:	Permanent Representatives Committee/Council
No. Cion doc.:	14018/1/18 REV 1 + 14018/18 ADD 1 - 17
Subject:	Proposal for a Council Decision on the conclusion of the relevant agreements under Article XXI GATS with Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, the Separate customs territory of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen and Matsu (Chinese Taipei), Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Hong Kong China, India, Japan, Korea, New Zealand, the Philippines, Switzerland, and the United States, on the necessary compensatory adjustments resulting from the accession of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Austria, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia, the Slovak Republic, the Republic of Finland and the Kingdom of Sweden to the European Union Request for the consent of the European Parliament

- 1. On 13 November 2018, the Commission submitted to the Council its proposal mentioned above.
- 2. The Trade Policy Committee (Services & Investment) at its meeting on 21 November 2018 examined the Presidency compromise proposal on the file and subsequently endorsed it. In accordance with Article 218(6)(a)(v) TFEU, the Council should decide on the transmission of the draft Decision to the European Parliament in order to obtain its consent.

14019/18 IM/hp 1

RELEX.1.A EN

3. The Permanent Representatives' Committee is therefore invited to recommend that the Council decide, as an "A" item, to forward the draft Council Decision on the conclusion of the relevant Agreements under Article XXI of the General Agreement on Trade in Services with Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, the Separate customs territory of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen and Matsu (Chinese Taipei), Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Hong Kong China, India, Japan, Korea, New Zealand, the Philippines, Switzerland and the United States, on the necessary compensatory adjustments resulting from the accession of Czechia, Estonia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Malta, Austria, Poland, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland and Sweden to the European Union, as finalised by the legal linguistic experts and set out in document 14020/18, as well as in the 17 agreements set out in documents 14020/18 ADD 1-17, to the European Parliament for its consent.

14019/18 IM/hp 2 RELEX.1.A **EN**