

Brussels, 30 November 2018 (OR. en)

13497/18

ACP 106 PTOM 36 FIN 826

'I/A' ITEM NOTE

From:	ACP Working Party
To:	Permanent Representatives Committee/Council
Subject:	CTA – Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation - Appointment of members of the Executive Board

In accordance with Decision No 4/2016 of the ACP-EU Committee of Ambassadors of 30 September 2016 appointing a member to the Executive Board of the Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation (CTA)¹, the term of office of five members of the Executive Board expired on 6 November 2018. Therefore, three new members should be appointed to the Executive Board and two members of the Executive Board should be re-appointed for the remaining period before the expiry of the ACP-EU Partnership Agreement on 29 February 2020.

On 28 November 2018, the ACP Working Party agreed upon the attached draft Decision appointing members to the Executive Board of the Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation (CTA).

13497/18 KH/br 1 RELEX.1.B EN

OJ L 278, 14.10.2016, p. 50.

The ACP Working Party agreed to suggest that the Permanent Representatives Committee recommend that the Council, as an "A" item on its agenda:

- approve the draft Decision as set out in the Annex;
- decide to forward the draft Decision to the ACP side for adoption by the ACP-EU Committee of Ambassadors by exchange of letters.

13497/18 2 KH/br EN RELEX.1.B

DRAFT

DECISION No xx/2018 OF THE ACP-EU COMMITTEE OF AMBASSADORS of xxx

appointing members to the Executive Board of the Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation (CTA)

THE ACP-EU COMMITTEE OF AMBASSADORS,

Having regard to the Partnership Agreement between the members of the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States of the one part, and the European Community and its Member States, of the other part¹, and in particular Article 3(5) of Annex III thereof,

Having regard to Decision No 5/2013 of the ACP-EC Committee of Ambassadors of 7 November 2013 on the Statutes of the Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation (CTA)², and in particular Article 5(4) of the Annex thereof;

_

OJ L 317, 15.12.2000, p. 3.

² OJ L 309, 19.11.2013, p. 50.

Whereas:

- (1) Article 5(4) of the Statutes of the CTA provides that the members of the Executive Board of the Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation (CTA) shall be appointed by the ACP-EU Committee of Ambassadors in accordance with the procedures laid down by the Committee for a period of up to five years, subject to a mid-term review.
- (2) In accordance with Decision No 4/2016 of the ACP-EU Committee of Ambassadors of 30 September 2016 appointing a member to the Executive Board of the Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation (CTA)³, the term of office of five members of the Executive Board expired on 6 November 2018.
- (3) In accordance with its Article 95 (1), the ACP-EU Partnership Agreement will expire on 29 February 2020. Therefore, three new members should be appointed to the Executive Board and two members of the Executive Board should be re-appointed for the remaining period before the expiry of the Agreement,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

- (1) Prof. Augusto Manuel CORREIA and Ms Helena JOHANSSON shall be re-appointed as members of the Executive Board of the CTA until 29 February 2020.
- (2) The following persons shall be appointed members of the Executive Board of the CTA:
- Mr David HUNTER,
- Mr Abel KPAWILINA-NAMKOISSE,
- Dr. Boitshoko NTSHABELE.

³ OJ L 278, 14.10.2016, p. 50.

Article 2

Without prejudice to any subsequent decisions that the ACP-EU Committee of Ambassadors might have to take in the framework of its prerogatives, the Executive Board of the CTA shall be composed as follows:

- Prof. Augusto Manuel CORREIA,
- Mr David HUNTER,
- Ms Helena JOHANSSON,
- Mr Abel KPAWILINA-NAMKOISSE,
- Dr. Boitshoko NTSHABELE, and
- Ms Frederike PRAASTERINK,

whose term of office expires on 29 February 2020.

Article 3

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at Brussels,

For the ACP-EU Committee of Ambassadors

The Chairman